Press

December 2016
Featured in Suffolk Mag as an amazing Cocktail bar in Ipswich

June 2016
Best for Pan-Asian food by AA Gill

April 2016
12 Suffolk restaurants that celebrate world cuisine

Aqua-Eight on the Ipswich Waterfront website

November 2015
East Anglian Daily Times Top 10 restaurants in Ipswich

October 2015
Aqua 8 restaurateur Patrick Cheung branches out with Orient London

July 2015
EAUX coverage of our charity wine tasting

July 2014 LoveFood.com
Aqua Eight reviewed by the UK’s #1 food blog

June/July 2013 Vanilla Magazine

April 2013 Evening Star

14 Dec 2012 – East Anglian Daily Times

16 Jan 2012 – Vanilla Magazine

23 Dec 2011 – East Anglian Daily Times

18 Oct 2011 – East Anglian Daily Times

16 Oct 2011 – Observer Food Monthly

10 Oct 2011 – Observer Food Monthly

2011 Archant Suffolk Magazine:
Aqua Eight is listed in their “50 Great Places to Eat in Suffolk” feature

19 Oct 2010 – Suffolk Magazine

Reviews

Accolades

2014 Winner of “Best UK Restaurant” in Chelsea Monthly’s UK Lifestyle & Luxury Awards

Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016

Top Table Top 20 romantic restaurants in the UK

MSN Food – Top 20 romantic restaurants in the UK

December 2013 – EADT Top 50 Businesses in SuffolkEADT Top 50 Businesses

The Best of Ipswich – 5/5

Ipswich Best Bar None – Best Independent Bar

Guest Reviews from Trip Advisor

“Why in Michelin Star….”
Reviewed 14 March 2013
Without question, this is by a long long way the best Restaurant in Ipswich/the Region, it would fit well into Mayfair, New York or Dubai. We ate at Hakassan in London last week which supposed to be the best Chinese and Aqua Eight is significantly better. Anyway, go and have a glass of Champagne, try the Tempura followed by the Wasabi Sirloin mmm, you will not be disappointed. I have written to Michelin asking the question ..Why no Star for Aqua Eight? They need to send somebody here instead of all the meat and two veg places their inspectors seem to favour ….

“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 March 2013
I have visited Aqua Eight on numerous occasions the last time being on Saturday night and as per usual the food and service was excellent. I visited with a group of friends and after pre-dinner drinks in the bar we moved upstairs to the restaurant. As the menu is so extensive we asked our waiter to choose our dishes for us. We were rewarded with some exceptional cuisine and got to try many dishes that we would not usually have chosen. A great evening was had by all and once again Aqua Eight
didn’t fail to deliver. I look forward to visiting again soon.

“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile
Perfect service from the moment we were met at the door by the doorman.Aqua eight has a lively bar downstairs and as our table was not quite ready we had a drink. A waitress came and found us and we were taken upstairs and shown to our table. A full, lively restaurant. I can’t over state how good the waiting staff are, very friendly, efficient, knowledgable and attentive.

The food was wonderful and good sized portions. For starters we really enjoyed seafood mixed hors d’oeuvres (chilli and pepper squid, crayfish and vermicelli California rice rolls, scallop truffle, tempura prawn, katsu crab claw) theses were served with three dips.

For our main course we had Massaman monkfish curry with potato, peanut and onion, Stir fry fillet beef in black bean sauce with chilli, steamed rice and Aqua eight noodles.

With a bottle of New Zealand Sav Blanc the total cost of the meal was £90.00 for the two of us.

After finishing our food and wine we returned to the bar downstairs and enjoyed a further drink whilst we waited for our taxi, ordered by the bar staff. Brilliant

“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 17 February 2013
I was looking for somewhere special to dine my wife for a special occasion. I chose Aqua Eight because we have a soft spot for Good Asian food. The food i have to say was Fantastic, it really was. And the service was like no other i had experienced by young enthusiastic staff. An extensive wine list and quality entertainment made the evening a perfect one. I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends and all those who read this….

Well done Aqua Eight! “Amazing night out, well worth the journey!!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012
My husband and I drove up from Southampton to dine here and we are so pleased we did!! The food was fantastic – in fact I could easily say it was the best Chinese meal I have ever had, the service friendly and the Mojitos were to die for!!
There was a pleasant crowd in the bar downstairs and even though there was a big party down there we were not disturbed by the music at all. We will definitely be making the trip again, Aqua Eight is worth spending a while on the M25 for!!

Customer Reviews from www.toptable.com

22 March 2013
This restaurant is something you would expect to find in London,with Michelin stars, the food is presented in such a beautiful way, and always cooked to perfection, we had a set menu, and it was a fantastic choice of dishes, we struggled to eat it all! The staff were very friendly and attentive, and the ambience is lovely – I cannot wait to go back!!

23 Feb 2013
This is our go to restaurant when dining with friends and as always we were very pleased with the whole evening. The service was good, but busy saturday nights can lead to a delay in attention from the staff so be prepared. The food was great as ever, one of the highlights is the steak rolled asparagus with teryaki sauce. All in all a fantastic evening

27 Jan 2013
Some of the best Oriental food I have ever eaten, with such subtle and imaginative use of spices that you end up thinking: so that’s what they are really meant to taste like! Crispy duck that is really crispy; spicy tempura prawns to die for. If you like, you can create an Oriental tapas-style meal by putting together lots of small (or small-ish) starters and ignoring main courses altogether; that way, you get to try a wider variety of dishes. Staff are charming and attentive, and delicious tea (green, jasmine etc.) an absolute steal at £1.80 per pot which keeps getting refilled as many times as you like. Only the environment, which is elegant and spotless, is a bit echoey and, when crowded, would be no good for a Romantic tete-a-tete.

16 Nov 2012
AquaEight is bustling, fairly noisy and deservedly full. Service always first class too and delivered with a genuine smile. The set menus are excellent and the quality is always to the same hig standard. I use London restaurants a lot and this one stands up alongside them comfortably. Thoroughly recommend.